Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Create Account  

Update - Planned Features

(07-05-2021, 02:34 PM)MichaelCollins Wrote:
(04-23-2021, 10:37 AM)Ted Woods Wrote:
(04-23-2021, 01:44 AM)JLaird Wrote: I did a quick search but did not find any information on what features the next update will include. Also is there an area where you can vote on future suggested features?
  • Site plan PDF vector extraction to contour lines, break lines or outlines (this can be used in all elements). 

I've been using InSite Earthworks for about 5 years now.  We are looking at other options that are on the market.  In Canada, over 95% of the tenders we bid on, we are not provided any model, or CAD drawings.  We are usually provided with a vector based PDF.  I assume this feature will allow a user to click on a contour line within a PDF site plan and then enter the elevation of that contour line?  As Kubla currently implements existing contour grades, this program isn't the right one for us (in its current state).

That being said, there are several features that look far superior.  I like being able to change the phasing of the excavation from switching the tab order.  The automatic visual for sloping on the excavation looks brilliant.  I'd be interested in seeing a slick pipe utility feature built into your software in a future update as well!

Hi Michael

Thanks for your interest in Kubla Cubed. Like you say in Kubla Cubed 2019 it was not possible to extract vectors from PDF.  However this changes in Kubla Cubed 2021 : 

In Kubla Cubed 2021 we don't do the 'click\stroke to select' auto-tracing as seen in some other products.  Instead we try to select all the contours by their shared characteristics (PDF layer, colour, thickness etc...) In theory we believe this is a superior system, in effect trying to use advanced filtering to bulk select the contours instead of manually stroking or clicking on each one.  If you have 200 contours it will be one operation instead of 200.